STUDIO LINES: 0779-780-978/ 0752-780-978 |

Thomas Tayebwa elected new Deputy Speaker of Parliament

Ruhinda North MP and former Government Chief Whip, Hon Thomas Tayebwa has been overwhelmingly elected as Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament following the resignation of Rt.Hon Anitta Among. He got 379 against Okot P’Bitek’s 82 votes.

Tayebwa, 40, replaces Anita Among, who was earlier elected speaker to replace the late Jacob Oulanyah.

Hon. Thomas Tayebwa pictured with his predecessor Rt Hon Anita Among during the NRM caucus meeting on Thursday.

The Ruhinda North MP’s political career traces back to the year 2006 when he stood for Youth parliamentary elections on FDC ticket but lost.

In 2016, he retreated and came back under NRM party representing Ruhinda North, Mitooma district. He served as member of National Economy Committee and Natural Resources Committee 2016 to 2021.

In 2021, he was elected back to parliament representing the same constituency and in May same year, he was appointed the government chief whip by President Museveni, a position he has held until today when he became duly elected the Deputy Speaker of 11th Parliament.

Although no confirmation has been made, Oulanyah’s body is expected back into the country this weekend.

By Racheal Nuwahereza

Please follow and like us:


97.8 Kazo FM Omushomesa is the biggest power house, source of information, education and entertainment in Western Uganda. We are second to none in playing hit music, educational programs and entertainment. We are found in Kazo district, Kazo town. Our lanagauge of broadcast is Runyankole. Broadcasting on 97.8 FM, the station reaches 120kms out of Kazo District. Follow us on Facebook: 97.8 Kazo FM Twitter: @978KazoFM Instagram:97.8 Kazo FM


97.8 Kazo FM is a Modern radio Station operating from the heart of Kazo district.


Kazo Fm - 97.8 Omushomesa | All Rights Reserved | Design: Javanet Systems

Follow by Email